Rank #3 in Best Hamster Cage 2026: 10 Ranked by Real Floor Space
PawHut Wooden Hamster Cage with Openable Top, 110 x 52 x 101 cm
Price and rating as shown on Amazon when we collected them. Both change.
PawHut's wooden hamster cage takes third place in this guide. It is listed at £90.99, rated 4.4 out of 5 from 15 ratings, and sits 42nd in Amazon's Small Animal Cages category. The stated dimensions are 110 x 52 x 101 cm: a 101 cm-tall fir wood cabinet with clear PET panels, a full-height top door with a latch, and open space underneath for storage.
The word doing the work here is the same one this guide keeps running into: 'large'. PawHut's own anti-slip feet bullet calls it 'our large hamster cage', and on the figures given that claim holds up better than most — 110 x 52 cm is a footprint of roughly 0.57 m2, which is more floor than the 0.5 m2 the BUCATSTATE 3.0 states for its 100 x 50 cm model. But PawHut never does that conversion itself, and the listing gives no bedding depth at all. There are also two places where the specification table and the bullets do not line up: Included Components reads 'Nesting Box, Ramp, Water Bottle' while the bullets promise two seesaws, platforms, a wooden hideout and a water bottle, and Breed Recommendation reads 'Small' in a cage whose bullets name dwarf hamsters, gerbils and Syrian hamsters. Everything below comes from the Amazon listing — the manufacturer's bullets, the specification fields and the customer reviews — not from any testing we carried out.
How those 15 ratings break down
An average hides its own shape. This is the spread behind the 4.4 stars.
Specification
Exactly as published on the Amazon listing, field for field.
| Price | £90.99 |
|---|---|
| Rating | 4.4 out of 5 from 15 ratings |
| Stated dimensions | 110 x 52 x 101 cm |
| Floor area | Not stated; 110 x 52 cm works out at roughly 0.57 m2 |
| Bedding depth | Not stated |
| Material Type | Fir, Plastic |
| Included Components | Nesting Box, Ramp, Water Bottle (as listed) |
| Breed Recommendation | Small (as listed) |
What buyers actually say
Quoted from customer reviews on Amazon
Verified purchase“Fairly straightforward to put together. Took about 30 mins. Its lasting well after a year so far. Used for a russian dwarf hamster. Plenty of space for it to run and explore and add extra play toys and different textures. Easy to clean aswell.”
Verified purchase“-Easy to assemble-Amazing floor space-Great access & easy to store things underneath the cage-No issues with biting the quality of the cage itself is sturdy with no chance of escaping!”
What it is up against
The rivals it was ranked against in Best Hamster Cage 2026: 10 Ranked by Real Floor Space.
Questions people ask
How much floor space does the PawHut cage give a hamster?
The listing states 110 x 52 x 101 cm overall but never converts that to a floor area. Taken at face value the footprint works out at roughly 0.57 m2, which is more than the 0.5 m2 the BUCATSTATE 3.0 states for its 100 x 50 cm model. PawHut's own copy stays with 'plenty of space' and does not put a number on it.
What bedding depth will it take?
No bedding depth is given anywhere in the PawHut listing, and no bedding is listed in the Included Components. One reviewer says they left the supplied platforms out so they could add deep bedding and use their own freestanding platforms instead.
Which animals is it meant for?
The bullets name dwarf hamsters, gerbils and Syrian hamsters, and the Item Highlight field adds dwarf, mouse, rats and rodent. The specification table is vaguer: Target Species reads 'Hamster' and Breed Recommendation reads 'Small', a field usually used for dog size.
What actually comes in the box?
The bullets list two seesaws, platforms, a cosy wooden hideout and a water bottle. The Included Components field lists a Nesting Box, Ramp and Water Bottle. The ramp is not mentioned in the bullets and the seesaws are not mentioned in the specification field.
How has it been rated so far?
4.4 out of 5 from 15 ratings. The breakdown reads 76 five-star, 11 four-star, 10 two-star and 3 one-star, so roughly one rating in eight sits at one or two stars and nothing sits in the middle.
How is it built and supported?
Fir wood with clear PET panels per the bullets, with Material Type reading 'Fir, Plastic'. It carries a 6-month warranty against manufacturer defects, and the Manufacturer field reads 'Sold by MHSTAR', which names a seller rather than a maker.
Comments
Reader comments are not checked against the manufacturer's claims above.
No comments yet
Be the first to add something we missed — a price change, a spec that turned out wrong, or how one of these held up.
Leave a comment
No account needed. Own one of these? Tell other readers how it actually performed.