Best Fairy Lights 2026: Outdoor Is a Word, IP Is the Number
By Felipe Iglesias · Updated
Every set of fairy lights is sold on two numbers, and the listings below disagree about which one matters. The first is the count of LEDs, which is only half of a measurement: 300 LEDs in a three metre curtain and 300 LEDs on a thirty metre string are different objects, and the density — how close the bulbs sit — is what you actually see. Across the seven strings here that give both figures, the spacing runs from eight to ten LEDs per metre, a quarter more light on one set than another of the same length, and the difference is never described in words.
The second number is the one the listings avoid. Outdoor use is decided by an IP rating, which says what water and dust a product survives: IP44 means splashes, IP65 means water jets and dust, IPX7 means immersion in a metre of water for half an hour. Seven of these sets publish one, three publish nothing at all, and the ratings among the seven range from 44 to X7. The set with the highest rating in the whole comparison, a £11.99 string rated IPX7, is filed in its own indoor-outdoor field as indoor. For a British garden in December, that field is the one to read before the marketing copy, and the three sets with no rating are the ones to leave inside.
The other three numbers worth checking are all inside the specification and none of them is prominent. Batteries: six of these sets are battery powered, and four of those six say in the bullets that batteries are not included, which is the difference between a decoration that goes up on the day and one that goes up the day after. Cable: only one of the ten states the length of the lead between the plug and the first bulb, and on a mains set it is the measurement that decides whether you can reach the nearest socket at all — a 25 metre string with a half metre lead is a planning problem, and no listing here except one tells you which you are buying. Wattage: it runs between 2.5 and 6 watts, which means a display of two or three sets costs less to run than a light bulb, and the energy-saving wording that appears in some of these descriptions is not the reason. One voltage figure is worth mentioning for being odd rather than useful: the Ollny Globe, a mains set, declares 31 volts, which is neither the mains supply nor the output of a string of warm white LEDs.
Lezonic 220 LED 25m Fairy Lights, Mains Powered, IP65, Remote and Timer, Warm White
The outdoor pick: 25 metres, IP65, mains powered with a remote and timer, and the only stated lead cable here.
Advantages
- IP65 rated, the standard for permanent outdoor use
- The longest string here: 25 metres and 220 LEDs
- Mains powered, so no batteries to buy or replace
- Remote with a timer
- The only listing here that states its lead cable length
Disadvantages
- 9 per cent one-star, the highest proportion in the top five
- One long run, so it cannot be split across rooms
- Mains only, so it needs a socket near the display
- Warm white only, with no colour options
IP65 is the rating that separates a set you can leave outside from one you cannot. It means dust tight and protected against water jets, which is what a British December throws at a hedge; IP44, which several sets here carry, only survives splashes. This one combines that rating with the longest string in the comparison — 25 metres carrying 220 LEDs, which is 8.8 bulbs per metre — and a mains plug, so there is no battery box to hide and no set of cells to replace in the cold.
It is also the only listing of the ten that states its lead cable, the length of wire between the plug and the first bulb. That number decides whether the set can be run from the socket you actually own: twenty-five metres of light is useless if the plug has thirty centimetres of cable, and no other listing here says which you are buying. The remote with a timer is the other feature worth having on a mains set, because it saves reaching behind a tree at eleven at night.
Nine per cent of its 1,866 ratings are one-star, which is the highest proportion in the top five and the reason this sits below sets with weaker specifications and friendlier reviews. What it is not is a compromise on the things that matter outdoors: IP65, a mains supply, a long string and a stated lead. The wattage is five watts, so running it through the evening costs almost nothing, and the string is copper wire with a coating rather than a thick cable, which is why the bulbs look close together.
Makion 10M 100 LED Battery Fairy String Lights, Indoor, Warm White
Ten metres and a hundred LEDs on batteries, the deepest sample here, and filed as indoor use rather than pretending otherwise.
Advantages
- 9,937 ratings at 4.4 stars, the deepest sample here
- 10 bulbs per metre, the standard density for a string
- Filed as indoor, with no IP rating it cannot meet
- Tells you the batteries are not included
- £5.99 for ten metres and a hundred LEDs
Disadvantages
- Indoor only, with no water rating at all
- No remote, no timer and no modes
- Ten metres is shorter than the mains sets here
- Batteries are not included, so budget for three AA cells
Nine thousand nine hundred and thirty-seven ratings at 4.4 stars, with 68 per cent five-star and 5 per cent one-star, is the largest body of evidence behind any set here, and it belongs to the cheapest. Ten metres, a hundred LEDs, three AA cells and no mains lead: that is 10 bulbs per metre, which is the standard density for a copper string and the figure you should compare before buying any set on this page.
The honesty is in the fields. The indoor-outdoor field says indoor, and there is no IP rating anywhere in the specification, which means this set makes no claim it cannot meet. Two other sets here have the same absence of a rating and neither says so as plainly. The bullets also state that batteries are not included, which is worth knowing in December when the shops are shut, and the power draw is 3.6 watts, so a set of cells lasts the season rather than the evening.
What it cannot do is go outside, and at £5.99 nobody should ask it to. It is four metres shorter than the mains set at number one, with no remote and no timer, and it is the right purchase for a tree, a mantelpiece or a bedroom where the alternative is a mains lead across the floor. The material list is unusual and worth a glance for once: ABS, copper and PVC, which is a real description of what a string of lights is made from.
Kolpop Fairy Lights Battery Operated with Timer, 4 Pack, 5m 50 LED, Warm White
Four separate five metre strings with their own timers, 200 LEDs in total, and the best review distribution here.
Advantages
- 73 per cent five-star and 3 per cent one-star, the best distribution here
- Four separate strings, so four places can be decorated
- A timer on each string
- 10 bulbs per metre, the same as the other strings here
- 6,813 ratings behind it
Disadvantages
- Indoor only, with no IP rating
- Batteries are not stated as included
- A fifth more per metre than the single string at number two
- Four battery boxes to feed, not one
Seventy-three per cent five-star and 3 per cent one-star from 6,813 ratings is the cleanest distribution in this comparison, on a set that solves a problem the single strings cannot: four separate cables of five metres each. Twenty metres of light arrives as four runs rather than one, which means four mantlepieces, four window frames or four wreaths, each with its own timer and its own battery box, all switching themselves off at the same hour.
The numbers are straightforward and comparable: fifty LEDs over five metres is ten bulbs per metre, the same spacing as the set at number one and number two, so the three are equally dense and the choice between them is about length, power and rating rather than light. The field for indoor and outdoor use says indoor, and no IP rating is claimed anywhere, which puts this in the same category as the set at number two — a decoration for inside the house, honestly labelled.
The reason it sits third rather than second is the price per metre: £9.99 buys twenty metres here against ten metres for £5.99 at number two, which is a fifth more per metre for the convenience of four separate runs. That is worth paying if you have four places to decorate, and pointless if you have one. The timer on each string is the feature that earns the premium; the alternative is walking round the house turning four sets off at bedtime.
Jsdoin Fairy Lights, 6 Pack 2m 20 LED, Battery Operated Copper Wire, IP65, Warm White
Six short strings with IP65 for £5.09, battery powered, so outside use needs no mains lead.
Advantages
- IP65 at £5.09, the cheapest outdoor-rated set here
- Six separate strings for six small decorations
- 10 bulbs per metre, matching the longer sets
- Battery powered, so no lead through a door seal
- 4,260 ratings at 4.2 stars
Disadvantages
- Two metres per string, so a hedge would need several
- Six battery boxes to hide and feed
- Batteries not stated as included
- 8 per cent one-star on a good-sized sample
Six strings of two metres, twelve metres in total, on batteries, for £5.09, with an IP65 rating. That combination is unusual at this price: IP65 is the same protection against dust and water jets that the £10.99 mains set at number one carries, and it means these can go on a wreath, a window box or a frame outdoors without a mains lead running through a door seal.
Two metres per string is the trade. A two metre run decorates a wreath or winds around a small frame and stops; there is no way to cover a hedge with six separate short strings without six battery boxes to hide, and at ten bulbs per metre the spacing is the same as the longer sets here, so the light is not thinner, just shorter. Five watts across the pack means the batteries are working harder than on the single strings, and the listing does not say whether cells are included, which usually means they are not.
Four thousand two hundred and sixty ratings at 4.2 stars, with 67 per cent five-star and 8 per cent one-star, is a good sample with a slightly weaker satisfaction rate than the top three. The material field says copper, which describes the wire inside the coating rather than what you touch, and the colour is warm white. For a wreath, a few small frames or a table decoration that has to sit outside, this is the cheapest way to get the rating that matters.
Ollny 5m 50 LED Battery Fairy Lights, Copper Wire, IP44, Warm White
The cheapest set here: five metres and fifty LEDs for £3.99, rated IP44 for sheltered outdoor use.
Advantages
- £3.99, the cheapest set in this comparison
- 5,484 ratings, the third-deepest sample here
- IP44, which is enough for a sheltered position
- 10 bulbs per metre, the standard spacing
- Tells you the batteries are not included
Disadvantages
- IP44 is splashes only, not water jets
- No timer and no remote
- Five metres covers one window
- 9 per cent one-star, often the battery box at this price
Three pounds ninety-nine for five metres and fifty LEDs, from a listing with five thousand four hundred and eighty-four ratings at 4.2 stars. The density is the standard ten bulbs per metre, the power is three watts from a set of cells that the bullets tell you are not included, and the wire is copper under a coating, which is why the bulbs sit close to the wire rather than on stalks.
The rating is IP44, and the difference between that and IP65 is worth knowing before the set goes outside. IP44 survives splashes, which covers a porch, a window box under an overhang or a tree against a wall. IP65, carried by the sets at number one and number four, survives water jets — the difference between rain blowing past and rain coming at it. For a sheltered position this is enough, and at this price the alternative is not to put lights outside at all.
Nine per cent of its ratings are one-star, the highest proportion in the top five, and at this price the failures are usually in the battery box rather than the string. Two things it will not do: it has no timer and no remote, so it is switched on at the box, and at five metres it covers one window or one shelf. What it does is put light on something for less than the cost of a coffee.
HXWEIYE 300 LED Fairy Curtain Lights, 3m x 3m, USB, Remote, Timer and 8 Modes
A curtain rather than a string: 300 LEDs over a three metre by three metre panel, USB powered, with no IP rating.
Advantages
- 300 LEDs over a three by three metre panel
- Remote, timer and eight lighting modes
- USB powered at five volts, so a power bank can run it
- £7.64 for a large hanging display
- 49 bulbs per square metre of coverage
Disadvantages
- Claims indoor and outdoor with no IP rating behind it
- Needs a USB supply that is not included
- Not a string, so it cannot wind around anything
- The power field says corded electric where the title says USB
Three hundred LEDs is three times a hundred, and the comparison means nothing. This is a curtain, a panel of wire strands that hangs three metres wide and three metres deep, and what it delivers is 49 bulbs per square metre of hanging fabric rather than a line of lights. A hundred-LED string of ten metres puts a bulb every ten centimetres along a single run; this puts them over an area, which is why it is the right product for a window, a wall or the back of a staircase and the wrong one for winding round a tree.
The power is USB, which the listing calls corded electric and the voltage field confirms at five volts. That is worth understanding before buying: a USB curtain needs a socket with an adapter or a power bank, and neither is included, so the set is mains-free only if you own a USB supply. The remote, the timer and the eight modes are all real features at this price and are the reason it has 1,135 ratings at 4.3 stars.
What it lacks is the rating that would let it hang outside. The indoor-outdoor field says both, and there is no IP rating anywhere in the specification — the most permissive claim in this comparison with the least evidence behind it. Hang it indoors, or in a porch where the rain cannot reach by any route, and the four things it does well are worth £7.64.
Zorela Fairy Lights Plug In, 15m 120 LED, Mains Powered, IP44, Warm White
Fifteen metres on a mains plug, rated IP44 — and the sparsest string here at eight bulbs per metre.
Advantages
- Fifteen metres on a mains plug, so no batteries
- IP44 rated for sheltered outdoor use
- 3.6 watts, so cheap to run
- The longest mains string here after number one
- 4.4 stars, though from 334 ratings
Disadvantages
- Eight bulbs per metre, the sparsest string here
- 334 ratings is a thin sample
- The title claims indoor and outdoor in the same line
- No remote and no timer
Fifteen metres and a hundred and twenty LEDs is eight bulbs per metre, and that is the lowest density of any string in this comparison: the sets at number one, two, three and four run at ten, the Lezonic at 8.8, and this one is the sparsest. Two strings of the same length can differ by a quarter in how much light they put out, and the count in the title — 120, in this case — does not tell you which you are buying. Divide the LEDs by the metres; that is the number.
The rest of the package is sensible for the price. It is mains powered, so there are no cells to buy and no battery box to hide, the run is fifteen metres, which is a hedge or two window frames, and the rating is IP44, which survives splashes for a sheltered position rather than the water jets an IP65 set takes. The power draw is 3.6 watts, so the cost of running it through an evening is invisible.
Three hundred and thirty-four ratings at 4.4 stars is a thin sample by the standards of this page, where the leaders have thousands, and it is the reason a set this capable ranks seventh. The title is also worth reading twice: it describes itself as an indoor string and an outdoor twinkle lights set in the same line, which is the kind of sentence that costs a buyer nothing and tells them nothing.
Fulighture Fairy Lights, 5m 40 LED Ball Globes, IPX7, Battery Operated, 2 Modes, White
The highest water rating in this comparison, IPX7, on a set the listing itself files as indoor — and the weakest reviews here.
Advantages
- IPX7, the highest water rating in this comparison
- Sealed globe bulbs rather than bare points
- 2,480 ratings at 4.2 stars
- States that batteries are not included
- 5 volt, 2.5 watt draw
Disadvantages
- Filed as indoor while carrying an immersion rating
- Eight bulbs per metre, the sparsest spacing here
- Only two lighting modes
- 61 per cent five-star, the lowest share on this page
IPX7 is the strongest rating on this page and one of the strongest in consumer lighting: it means the product survives immersion in a metre of water for half an hour. This set carries it because the bulbs are sealed globes, and the same listing files the product in its indoor-outdoor field as indoor. Both statements are on the same page, in fields that a buyer reads together, and they cannot both be intended. Either the globes are sealed and the set can hang in the rain, or it belongs inside; the rating says the first and the field says the second.
What is certain is the light itself. Five metres and forty LEDs is eight bulbs per metre, the sparsest spacing in this comparison alongside the mains string at number seven, and these are globes rather than points, so the effect is a line of larger baubles at wider intervals rather than a dense string. Two lighting modes is the fewest here, against eight on the curtain at number six, and at £11.99 for five metres it is the most expensive string per metre in the comparison.
Sixty-one per cent five-star is the lowest share of delighted buyers on this page, with 8 per cent one-star, and 2,480 ratings is a substantial sample to judge it on. The bullets state that batteries are not included, which is one of only four listings here to say so. For a shelf, a mirror or a window that never opens, the globes are a different look from the standard string and worth the money; for a garden, the rating says yes and the listing says no, and the seller should fix that before a buyer has to choose which line to believe.
KASZOO 10M 100 LED Ivy Vines with Fairy Lights, Battery or USB, Remote, IP65
Lights woven into ten metres of artificial ivy, powered by batteries or USB, and rated IP65 for outdoor use.
Advantages
- Batteries or USB, the only set here with both
- IP65 rated, so it can go outside
- Ten metres of ivy, which fills a wall better than a bare string
- 10 bulbs per metre along the wire
- Remote included, and 74 per cent five-star
Disadvantages
- £16.98, the most expensive string here per metre
- Ivy is a fixed shape, so it cannot be wound around a tree
- Three volts, the lowest supply in this comparison
- 666 ratings is a modest sample
This is not a string of lights, it is a plant with lights in it. Ten metres of artificial ivy carries a hundred LEDs, so the density along the wire is the familiar ten per metre, but what a buyer sees is leaves with points of light among them, and that is a different decoration from a bare string on a hook. For a blank wall, a headboard or the back of a staircase the effect is a fuller one, because the vines add mass where the lights alone leave gaps.
It is also the only product in this comparison with two power sources: batteries for a wall where there is no socket, or USB when there is one. That flexibility is worth more than it sounds in a rented flat, and no other listing here offers it. The rating is IP65, the same water-jet protection as the mains set at number one, so it can go on a fence or a balcony rather than being confined indoors.
What it costs is money per metre. At £16.98 for ten metres it is the most expensive string here by a distance, and the premium is buying the ivy rather than the light. Six hundred and sixty-six ratings at 4.4 stars with 74 per cent five-star and 3 per cent one-star is a solid distribution on a modest sample, and the remote is included, which the price should justify. A small detail worth smiling at in the fields: the colour is given as ivy, which is a plant rather than a colour, and green would have been the answer.
Ollny Globe Fairy Lights, Plug In, 10m 100 LED Ball Lights, Mains Powered, IP44
The highest rating in this comparison, 4.7 stars, on the smallest sample of forty — ten metres of mains-powered globe lights.
Advantages
- 4.7 stars, the highest rating on this page
- Sealed globe bulbs, a different look from a bare string
- Mains powered, with no batteries to buy
- The only set here that states its weight: 490 grams
- Ten bulbs per metre, the standard spacing
Disadvantages
- Forty ratings, one two-hundred-and-fiftieth of the leading sample
- £16.99 for ten metres, the second-highest price here
- IP44 only, so sheltered positions rather than exposed ones
- Declares 31 volts for a mains set, which is not a usable figure
Four point seven stars is the best rating on this page and it comes from forty ratings, which is one two-hundred-and-fiftieth of the sample behind the set at number two. That is the whole argument of this listing in one line: a small sample can produce an excellent average and it cannot tell you whether the set will still work in three Decembers. The histogram has no one-star reviews at all and a small block of two-star ones, which is what forty opinions look like when thirty-three of them are delighted.
The product itself is a different look rather than a different specification. Ten metres carrying a hundred LEDs is ten bulbs per metre, the same spacing as the strings above, but the bulbs are globes rather than points, so each one is visible as an object and the effect is closer to a row of small lanterns. It is mains powered, so no batteries, and the rating is IP44, which is splashes in a sheltered position rather than the water jets an IP65 set handles.
Two entries in the specification are worth a glance. It states a weight, 490 grams, which is the only weight on this page and suggests a heavier gauge of wire than the battery sets. And it declares 31 volts for a mains-powered set, which is neither the supply voltage nor the output of a string of warm white LEDs; it is probably the driver, and it is not something a buyer can use. At £16.99 for ten metres it is the second most expensive string here, and the price is buying the globes and the mains lead rather than the length.
All 10 compared
The same ranking side by side, now that the numbers have names.
Final Verdict
What we would buy. The Lezonic at £10.99 is the pick for anything that goes outside or covers real distance: 25 metres, 220 LEDs, a mains plug rather than batteries, a remote with a timer, and IP65, which is dust tight and sealed against water jets rather than merely splashes. It is also the only listing in this comparison that states its lead cable, the measurement that decides whether the set reaches your socket. For a tree or a shelf indoors, the Makion at £5.99 is the safest purchase here: 9,937 ratings at 4.4 stars on a ten metre string of a hundred LEDs, ten bulbs per metre, battery powered and honest about not including them, with no IP rating and therefore no pretence of belonging outside. For a set to spread across several rooms, the Kolpop four-pack at £9.99 has the best reviews in this comparison at 4.5 stars from 6,813 ratings with 3 per cent one-star, and each five metre string carries its own timer. If you want the cheapest way to start, the Ollny five metre set at £3.99 is IP44 with 5,484 ratings behind it, and for a wall or a window the HXWEIYE curtain at £7.64 gives 300 LEDs over a three by three metre panel — a count across an area rather than along a string, and no IP rating at all.
What the listings will not tell you. Look for the IP rating before the word outdoor, because three of these ten have none and the range among the rest is wide enough to matter: IP44 for a sheltered wall, IP65 for a hedge in the rain. Do not compare LED counts between a string and a curtain, because one is a line and the other is an area; on strings the spacing here runs from eight to ten bulbs per metre. Check whether the batteries are included, since four listings mention it and two battery sets do not. Find the lead length if the set is mains powered, because only one listing here gives it and it decides where the set can go. Read the voltage only if you plan to run the set from a USB pack, and ignore the energy-saving language, because a whole display is a few watts either way. And if you intend to leave a set out all winter, buy one with a rating rather than one with a photograph of a garden. Everything on this page comes from the Amazon listings, collected on 12 September 2026.
Why trust this ranking?
We rank on price, customer ratings and the specifications that decide the job, and we read each specification table against the marketing bullets on the same listing. When a number does not survive that check, we say so in the entry rather than quietly dropping the product. We also say when a product is the wrong one for you.
How we rank, in full
Written by
Felipe Iglesias
Founder & Lead Reviewer
Felipe is a computational engineering student who has been working in SEO since he was sixteen. He founded ranked10 and researches every guide on the site.
Related buying guides
Every guide below ranks ten products the same way this one does.
Home
Which Electric Toothbrush Is Better in 2026? 10 Ranked
Which electric toothbrush is better? For most people, the £29.99 Oral-B Pro 1, the cheapest with a pressure sensor. Oral-B vs Sonicare, 10 ranked.
Home
Best Loft Ladder 2026: 10 Ranked
The best loft ladder is the Abru 37000 at £86.99: a full 3 m of reach for £29.00 a metre, with a stowing pole, fittings and 150 kg capacity.
Home
Best Electric Bike for Adults 2026: 10 Ranked
The best electric bike for adults in 2026 is the URLIFE E26 at £419. We rank 10 and compare watt-hours, not claimed range, from £359 to £1,499.
Home
Best Dining Table 2026: 10 Ranked
The best dining table 2026: the VASAGLE Golden Oak at £59.99 gives 175 cm2 of tabletop per pound. Ten tables ranked on area per pound, seats and load.
Home
Best Dining Chairs 2026: 10 Ranked
Best dining chairs for 2026: the Amazon Basics metal set wins at £31.67 a chair, with load ratings and price per chair compared across 10 sets.
Home
Best Bandsaw 2026: 10 Ranked
The best bandsaw is the Scheppach HBS261 at £219: 130 mm of cut height. We rank 10 saws by depth per pound, and the £119 model beats the £398 one.
Home
Best Rise and Recline Chairs 2026: 10 Ranked, and Two Share 828 Ratings
Rise and recline chairs ranked: two MCombo listings share 828 ratings and a 4.4 average yet sit £155.91 apart, and Elite Care prices are VAT-exempt only.
Home
Best Electric Wheelchair 2026: 10 Ranked, and Two Are the Same Chair
Two ByteTecpeak listings at £529.99 are the same electric wheelchair: same 20.5 kg, 12ah battery and 4.2 stars. We ranked ten on the numbers.
Home
Best Electric Recliner Sofas: 10 Ranked by the Numbers
Electric recliner sofas: the door widths and weights on these ten listings disagree with each other. We rank them on the numbers that do add up.
Home
Best Electric Cool Box 2026: 10 Ranked, and Why the Litre Count Misleads
Electric cool box capacity often overstates usable space: 25L net vs 32L gross, 40L vs 45L. We ranked ten on price, spec and reviews.
Products you might like
The best rated products from our other Home guides.
Comments
Reader comments are not checked against the manufacturer's claims above.
No comments yet
Be the first to add something we missed — a price change, a spec that turned out wrong, or how one of these held up.
Leave a comment
No account needed. Own one of these? Tell other readers how it actually performed.