Best Mattress 2026: Twelve Layers, and No Firmness

By · Updated

A mattress is sold by two things, and this market publishes neither of them properly. The first is firmness — the specification a buyer cares about most, because it decides whether the mattress helps a back or makes it worse — and of the seven mattresses in this ranking four never mention it. Not medium, not firm, not a number on a scale: nothing. One of those four costs £79.04 and one £139.99, and both are sold entirely on the hope that a memory foam mattress will turn out to be the right one. The second is thickness, which every listing publishes, and the figure that actually separates a cheap mattress from a good one — the depth of foam above the springs — which none of them does. What fills the space is a layer count. One mattress here states two layers, another three, a third four, and two of them twelve, all in the same field. Twelve layers is not a construction; it is a diagram counted, in which the cover, the quilting, the gel foam, the memory foam, the transition foam, the spring unit, the edge support, the base and the adhesives have each been given a number. The one listing that does it properly is the one that names them — four layers, described as one centimetre of comfort memory foam and two of gel — and that listing is the cheapest of the four.

Where the specification blocks are concerned, the pages give themselves away in a way that makes this the most entertaining collection of the session. One mattress, a king size weighing 29 kilograms, carries a care instruction reading hand wash only. Nobody hand washes a mattress, and its own sibling, a £53.53 single, prints the truthful version of the same instruction: do not wash. One page gives its dimensions twice, once as a bed — 190 by 90 by 16.5 centimetres — and once as 34 by 37 by 37, which is the vacuum-packed mattress in the carton it arrives in, entered in the field where a shopper looks for the size of the bed. One reverses its own length and width, so that a double is described as 135 long and 190 wide, and one measures the same object in metres in one field and centimetres in the next. One has a cover material reading polyester, a stray quotation mark, the word or, and polyester blend, which is a spreadsheet cell pasted into a product page. And one has an is electric field, answered no.

Amid all of that, one mattress states the thing that every mattress in the country has to have and almost none of them mention. BS7177 is the British standard for the fire resistance of mattresses — it is a legal requirement for anything sold as a mattress in the United Kingdom, and it is the reason a mattress in this country contains the fire-retardant layers it does. One listing in seven names it. The other six say twelve layers, four zones and a Tencel cover, and say nothing about the test that a bed has to pass before it can be sold at all. If you take one thing from this article before its entries, take that: the number a mattress must have is on the page of exactly one of these seven.

Two pairs of listings in the collection also share their ratings, which is now a familiar shape on this site: the double and the king of one brand carry the same 2,675 reviews between them, so a shopper browsing the king is reading the verdict on the double. That is the fourth family pool this site has found in a single evening of collecting, after three air purifiers, three hubs, two clocks and two scooters, and it is worth saying plainly what it means: on this marketplace, a review count describes a product family, and only then a size, a colour, or the thing in the box.

At a glance

Free WhatsApp group

Amazon deals, around the clock

Price drops and lightning deals posted the moment they go live. No spam, leave whenever you like.

Join the group

Free to join · Leave any time

1

Wilson Beds 3ft Single Mattress, Memory Foam, 16.5cm Deep

Wilson Beds 3ft single memory foam mattress
£53.53 4.3 3,627 reviews

£53.53 with 3,627 ratings — the deepest sample in this article — and a listing that measures itself twice, as a bed and as a parcel.

Pros

  • 3,627 ratings at 4.3 stars: the deepest sample here
  • £53.53: the cheapest mattress in this article
  • A UK manufacturer that says it has shipped 100,000 mattresses
  • Depth given as 16.5cm and 6.5 inches, both correct
  • A care instruction that says do not wash

Cons

  • Dimensions are given as both the bed and the box
  • An "is electric" field answered no
  • A single: not for two adults
  • 4.3 stars: mid-table among the samples

Why it is number 1

Ratings
4.3 from 3,627 Four times the next sample in this article
Dimensions
190 x 90 x 16.5cm, and 34 x 37 x 37cm The bed and the parcel, in two fields
Care
Do not wash, stated The only honest care instruction here
Depth
16.5cm, given as 6.5 inches too A correct conversion
Weight
14 kg The second-lightest mattress in this ranking
Price
£53.53 The cheapest here

What buyers actually say

Quoted from customer reviews on Amazon

Verified purchase

“Lovely mattress for my grandson, soft and he loves it”

JAYNE HALL
Verified purchase

“Perfect for the spare room. Quick delivery well packaged and comfortable”

Vogue78
Check Price on Amazon More about the Wilson Beds 3ft Single Mattress, Memory Foam, 16.5cm Deep

The deepest sample in this article by a factor of four, at the lowest price in it: 3,627 ratings at 4.3 stars for a three foot single mattress that costs £53.53, from a manufacturer that says in its own bullet that it has distributed over a hundred thousand mattresses. A single is the size nobody writes guides about and everybody buys — the spare room, the child's first bed, the student flat — and the evidence here is the volume of that market rather than the enthusiasm of any one buyer, which is what a 3,627 rating count looks like. Its buyers describe a mattress for a grandson, a mattress for a spare room, well packaged, comfortable, quick to arrive.

The listing also contains the cleanest example in this article of a specification that was never read back. It gives its dimensions twice: as 190 by 90 by 16.5 centimetres in the field headed length, width and thickness, which is a three foot single and its depth; and as 34 by 37 by 37 centimetres in the plain dimensions field, which is a box — the mattress, vacuum-packed and rolled, in the carton it arrives in. Both numbers are honest statements about the same purchase, and neither tells a shopper which is the one that has to fit between two walls. There is also a field marked is electric, answered no, on a mattress. And there is an instruction worth more than it looks: do not wash. A mattress cannot be washed; anyone who has read the field on a rival listing that says hand wash only — the Amazon Basics mattress in this ranking — knows that a specification written by somebody who had handled the product says so.

Its depth is given as both 16.5 centimetres and 6.5 inches, which is the correct conversion, and its 14 kilogram weight is the second-lightest here. At £53.53 it is the cheapest mattress in the article and it is first because more than three thousand buyers have described what it is: a cheap single that arrives rolled and sleeps well enough for a spare room.

2

dosleeps Double Mattress 4FT6, 10.6 Inch, 9-Zone Pocket Spring

dosleeps 4ft6 double memory foam and pocket sprung mattress
£159.99 4.4 2,675 reviews

£159.99 with 2,675 ratings and nine zones of springs — and a specification claiming twelve layers.

Pros

  • 2,675 ratings at 4.4 stars
  • A Tencel lyocell surface: the only named fibre here
  • Nine separately wrapped zones of pocket springs
  • 27cm deep, in the correct length-first order
  • Buyers describing it as the best mattress they have bought

Cons

  • Claims twelve layers, in a field two rivals answer with two and three
  • 27 kg: two people to move it
  • Its ratings are shared with the king version
  • No firmness value published

Why it is number 2

Ratings
4.4 from 2,675 Second-deepest sample in this article
Layers
12, in a field two rivals answer with 2 and 3 A diagram counted, not a construction
Surface
TENCEL lyocell The only named fibre in this ranking
Springs
Nine pocket-sprung zones Less movement transfer between sleepers
Depth
27 centimetres Check the sheets
Price
£159.99 The middle of this ranking

What buyers actually say

Quoted from customer reviews on Amazon

Verified purchase

“Best mattress I have ever bought so comfortable”

Diane Ferguson
Verified purchase

“Its like sleeping on a cloud. Absolutely amazing”

joanne isherwood
Check Price on Amazon More about the dosleeps Double Mattress 4FT6, 10.6 Inch, 9-Zone Pocket Spring

The second-deepest sample in this article and the clearest victim of its most absurd field. This mattress is described with a number of layers set to twelve. The same field on the Amazon Basics mattress in this ranking reads two, and on the Wilson Beds single it reads three. A mattress is a cover, a comfort layer or two, a spring unit and a base: three to five real components, which is what the two honest listings here state. Twelve is what happens when each material in a diagram is counted as a layer — the knitted cover, the Tencel surface, the gel foam, the memory foam, the transition foam, the spring unit, the edge support, the base, and the glues between them — and then printed in a field that a shopper compares as if it were a build specification. It is the same habit as the seventeen atmosphere lights on a sunrise clock and the nine load capacity on a tumble dryer: a number with no unit, in a field with no definition, doing nothing except sounding like more.

What this listing does state properly is the thing the field cannot hold. Its surface is TENCEL lyocell, which is the only named fibre in this article and a real textile — a wood-pulp fibre that wicks moisture and stays cooler than polyester, which is what a mattress cover does all night. Beneath it are nine separately wrapped zones of pocket springs, a construction that transfers less movement between two sleepers than a continuous spring, and a total depth of 27 centimetres, which is a thick mattress by any standard and worth checking against the sheets in the cupboard. Its dimensions are given in the correct order — length first, then width, then thickness — which the SCEPKN mattress further down this ranking does not manage.

It weighs 27 kilograms and has 2,675 ratings at 4.4 stars, the same count and the same rating as the king-sized version of the same range, because the two share a review pool. At £159.99 it is priced against the mid-range of this ranking and it is second because the evidence is strong, the spring construction is real, and the layers field is a number nobody can define.

3

TeQsli Double Mattress 4FT6, 18cm, 7-Zone Pocket Spring, Cotton Cover

TeQsli 4ft6 double hybrid mattress with cotton cover
£79.04 4.4 962 reviews

£79.04 for the cheapest double here — cotton cover, seven zones, and twelve layers in a field that has no definition.

Pros

  • £79.04: the cheapest double mattress here
  • A cotton cover, the only one in this ranking
  • 962 ratings at 4.4 stars
  • 21.5 kg: the lightest of the doubles
  • Seven zones of pocket springs

Cons

  • No firmness published anywhere on the page
  • Claims twelve layers
  • The style field contains its own thickness
  • 18cm: the thinnest double in this article

Why it is number 3

Price
£79.04 The cheapest double in this ranking
Firmness
Not stated The one specification a mattress buyer needs
Cover
Cotton The only cotton cover here
Layers
12 A field with no unit and no definition
Depth
18 centimetres The thinnest double in this article
Ratings
4.4 from 962 A healthy sample

What buyers actually say

Quoted from customer reviews on Amazon

Verified purchase

“After it being delayed, it arrived this morning about 10ish and the driver was very helpful and polite very happy with the quality”

Tracey
Check Price on Amazon More about the TeQsli Double Mattress 4FT6, 18cm, 7-Zone Pocket Spring, Cotton Cover

The cheapest double mattress in this article by a margin of eighty pounds, and the one that shows how far the specification can drift from the object. It claims twelve layers, in the same field that a mattress at the top of this ranking answers with two and a single at number one answers with three. It has a seven-zone pocket spring system and a total depth of eighteen centimetres, which is the thinnest double here — the dosleeps is 27 and the SCEPKN 25 — and it weighs 21.5 kilograms, the lightest of the doubles. Its cover is cotton, which is the only cotton cover in this ranking and a genuine advantage over the polyester blends the rest use: it breathes, it does not build up the static that polyester does, and it is the fibre that most people expect against their skin. And its style field, which on other listings names a design or a colourway, contains the string 18CM — the mattress's own thickness, typed into a field asking for something else.

What is absent from the listing is worth as much as what is present. Nowhere on the page does it describe how firm the mattress is. Not medium, not firm, not a number on a scale, not a single adjective; the closest it comes is a claim that the memory foam is high-density. Firmness is the single specification a mattress buyer cares about most — it is the difference between a mattress that helps a bad back and one that makes it worse, and the reason a buyer searches for a mattress for their sleeping position at all. Of the seven mattresses in this article, three publish a firmness word. This one is £79.04, has 962 ratings at 4.4 stars, and asks a shopper to decide without one.

Its buyers are satisfied in the way buyers of cheap mattresses are — one mentions a delayed delivery that arrived and a helpful driver rather than the mattress itself. It is third because the price for a double is the lowest here and because a mattress sold without a firmness is a mattress sold on hope.

4

Uliyati Double Mattress, Gel Memory Foam, 20cm, 4 Named Layers

Uliyati double gel memory foam mattress 20cm deep
£139.99 4.4 927 reviews

£139.99 and 927 ratings — the only listing here that names its layers and their thicknesses instead of counting them.

Pros

  • The only listing here that names its layers and their thicknesses
  • 17 kg: the lightest mattress in this article
  • 927 ratings at 4.4 stars
  • A 20cm profile at a mid-range price
  • Buyers describing it as good value rather than as a miracle

Cons

  • No firmness published anywhere
  • The style field contains its thickness
  • A polyester-blend cover, not cotton
  • Fourth because the sample is a third of the leaders'

Why it is number 4

Layer description
Four, named with centimetres The only real construction detail in this article
Weight
17 kg The lightest mattress in this ranking
Firmness
Not stated Absent, like the TeQsli above
Depth
20 centimetres Mid-range here
Style field
Filled in with the depth A field for a design holding a measurement
Ratings
4.4 from 927 A healthy sample, a third of the leaders

What buyers actually say

Quoted from customer reviews on Amazon

Verified purchase

“Fabulous quality given price ! Very comfortable although early days as to whether it will last but to be honest cheap enough to replace”

Deborah Anne Cook
Verified purchase

“Love this mattress. Was tired of spring mattresses and was relieved to come across this one which is so comfy with its memory foam, texture and design.”

Omololu Kusimo
Check Price on Amazon More about the Uliyati Double Mattress, Gel Memory Foam, 20cm, 4 Named Layers

The one listing in this article that answers the question the layers field asks, and it does it in a bullet rather than in the field. Its foam system is described as four layers, and then — this is the part no competitor attempts — the layers are named with their measurements: one centimetre of comfort memory foam, two centimetres of gel memory foam, and two more components under them. That is what a mattress specification looks like when somebody has actually built and measured the thing, and it is the standard against which the twelve layers claimed by the mattress at number two should be read. Twelve is a diagram counted; four, with centimetres, is a construction. Every buyer in this market is trying to decide whether a mattress will be soft enough and thick enough, and only this listing gives them the arithmetic to try.

The rest of the page is the standard hybrid package at the price: a 20 centimetre depth, a polyester-blend cover, memory foam over a gel layer, hypoallergenic and orthopaedic claims that mean very little, and a weight of 17 kilograms, the lightest mattress in this article and light enough for one person to carry upstairs. Its style field contains its own thickness, twenty centimetres, which is the second time in this ranking that a field designed for a design has been filled in with a dimension. And like the TeQsli above, it publishes no firmness: no medium, no soft, no firm. Two of the seven mattresses here are sold without a word about how they feel, at £79.04 and £139.99, which is the price range where that omission is most likely to end in a return.

It has 927 ratings at 4.4 stars and its buyers justify the purchase by its price rather than by its comfort — fabulous quality given the price, and a shift away from spring mattresses that finally felt comfortable. At £139.99 it is the middle of this ranking and it is fourth because it is the most honestly described mattress here and the sample is a third of the size of the two above it.

5

SCEPKN Double Mattress, 9-Zone Orthopaedic, Gel Memory Foam, 25cm

SCEPKN double orthopaedic gel memory foam mattress
£119.99 4.5 256 reviews

£119.99 for a 9-zone orthopaedic double with the best rating of the hundreds, and its own dimensions in the wrong order.

Pros

  • 4.5 stars: the best rating of the large samples here
  • A nine-zone orthopaedic pocket spring unit
  • 25cm deep
  • Buyers describing it as firm and hard-wearing

Cons

  • Length and width swapped between two of its fields
  • The comfort layer named twice as two materials
  • 30 kg: the heaviest mattress here
  • No firmness scale, only a word

Why it is number 5

Dimensions
135 x 190 in one field, 135L x 190W in another A double is 190 long: the sides are swapped
Rating
4.5 from 256 The best of the hundreds here
Construction
Nine-zone pocket springs, gel memory foam Real, and described
Comfort layer
"Gel Memory Foam, Memory foam" One material, written twice
Weight
30 kg The heaviest in this ranking
Price
£119.99 Between the cheapest and the middle

What buyers actually say

Quoted from customer reviews on Amazon

Verified purchase

“Excellent mattress, unbelievably firm. Would recommend”

Amazon Customer
Verified purchase

“Amazing product great value for money perfect fit hard wearing and is very comftable and looks great would deffo buy another”

Daryl Adam Philp
Check Price on Amazon More about the SCEPKN Double Mattress, 9-Zone Orthopaedic, Gel Memory Foam, 25cm

The best rating among the mattresses here with more than a hundred buyers, and a page whose two dimension fields disagree about which side of the bed is which. One field gives the size as a double of 135 by 190 by 25 centimetres. Another gives the same mattress as 135 long, 190 wide and 25 thick. A double bed is 190 centimetres from head to foot and 135 across, so the second field has the length and the width the wrong way round — and because both fields contain the same three numbers, the error is invisible to anyone reading quickly. The two mattresses above it state length first and correctly; this one does not, and it is the sort of mistake that matters in a bedroom, because a mattress that does not fit between two walls is not returnable in the way a wallpaper sample is.

Its description has the same problem in miniature. The comfort layer is given as gel memory foam and memory foam, comma-separated, as though those were two different materials rather than one material described twice — which is exactly the fault of the layers field, at the level of a single cell. What the listing does convey is a nine-zone orthopaedic pocket spring construction under 3D gel memory foam, a depth of 25 centimetres and a weight of 30 kilograms, and it carries 256 ratings at 4.5 stars, the strongest rating of the mattresses here with hundreds of buyers. The reviews agree about one thing above all others: a buyer calls it unbelievably firm, and another describes it as excellent value that is hard-wearing and comfortable.

At £119.99 it sits between the cheapest double and the mid-range and it is fifth because the rating is the best of its size, the orthopaedic claim is at least backed by a real nine-zone spring unit, and its own measurements cannot agree on which way round the bed goes.

6

Amazon Basics Hybrid Pocket Spring Mattress, King, BS7177, 22cm

Amazon Basics hybrid pocket spring king size mattress
£139.99 4.2 124 reviews

£139.99 for the only mattress here that names the UK fire standard — and the only one whose care instruction is impossible.

Pros

  • The only listing here that names BS7177, the UK fire standard
  • Made in the UK, stated
  • Dimensions given in centimetres and inches, both correct
  • A buyer describing the firmness as right for spinal support

Cons

  • Care instruction: hand wash only, on a 29kg mattress
  • 4.2 stars: the lowest rating in this article
  • A cover field with stray quotes and an "or" inside it
  • No firmness scale and no layers statement

Why it is number 6

Certification
BS7177 compliant, stated The only mattress here that names the UK fire standard
Care
Hand wash only Impossible for a 29kg king mattress
Cover field
"Polyester" or "Polyester blend" A spreadsheet cell pasted into the page
Dimensions
22cm, given as 8.66 inches too The conversion is right
Weight
29 kg The heaviest mattress here
Ratings
4.2 from 124 The lowest rating in this ranking

What buyers actually say

Quoted from customer reviews on Amazon

Verified purchase

“Its firmness seems ideal for proper spinal support, while the even surface hints at comfort and restful sleep.”

Sangavy Uthayakumar
Verified purchase

“Not too soft and not too hard…I had better sleep with this mattress than my previous one. Amazon never disappoint me. Thumbs up!!”

Fermar Buenavista
Check Price on Amazon More about the Amazon Basics Hybrid Pocket Spring Mattress, King, BS7177, 22cm

The only mattress in this article that states the safety standard it is built to, and the only one whose care instruction cannot be carried out. The certification is BS7177, which is the British standard for the fire resistance of mattresses and bed bases, and it is not optional: a mattress sold in the United Kingdom has to meet it. Almost no listing says so — the other six mattresses in this ranking do not mention it anywhere — which means a shopper reading these pages learns about nine spring zones and twelve layers and nothing about the requirement that exists to stop a bed catching fire. This listing does say it, and adds that the mattress is made in the UK, and it is worth more than the six missing firmness words put together. The instruction is its opposite: product care, hand wash only. A king size mattress is 200 centimetres long, 150 wide and 22 deep, and weighs 29 kilograms. Nobody hand washes one, and the sibling listing at the top of this ranking — a mattress costing a third as much — prints the honest version of the same instruction: do not wash.

There is a third fault of a different kind in its cover field, which reads polyester with a stray closing quotation mark and an or inside the value, followed by polyester blend. It is a spreadsheet cell pasted into a specification, and the marks are the reason it is visible: no copywriter leaves an or inside a field. What the mattress itself offers is a hybrid of pocket springs and pressure relief foam with a quilted cover, 22 centimetres of depth and two dimension fields that give the same figure in both systems — 22 centimetres and 8.66 inches — with the conversion correct.

It has 124 ratings at 4.2 stars, the lowest rating in this article, and one buyer's review is worth quoting for what mattress buyers actually want: a firmness that feels ideal for proper spinal support. At £139.99 it is priced with the mid-range and it is sixth because it names the standard since it is sold to be a mattress in a British bedroom and because its own care instruction shows that nobody at the listing read the specification twice.

7

dosleeps King Size Mattress 5FT, 10.6 Inch, 9-Zone Pocket Spring

dosleeps 5ft king size memory foam and pocket sprung mattress
£189.99 4.4 2,675 reviews

£189.99 for the dearest mattress here, which shares its 2,675 ratings with the double above and measures itself twice in two units.

Pros

  • The same nine-zone pocket spring build as the double above
  • A Tencel lyocell surface
  • 27cm deep, with the dimensions correctly converted
  • 2,675 ratings behind the construction

Cons

  • £189.99: the dearest mattress in this article
  • Its 2,675 ratings are shared with the double
  • Two dimension fields, in two units, for one object
  • Twelve layers claimed, as on the double

Why it is number 7

Price
£189.99 The dearest mattress here
Shared evidence
2,675 ratings, also used by the double One pool for two sizes of one product
Dimensions
2 x 1.5 x 0.27 metres, and 200 x 150 x 27cm The same object, twice, in two units
Construction
Nine pocket-sprung zones, Tencel surface Identical to the entry at number two
Depth
27 centimetres Thick: check the sheets
Layers
12 The same undefined field as its sibling

What buyers actually say

Quoted from customer reviews on Amazon

Verified purchase

“Very thick and comfortable. Excellent 👍Speedy delivery too.”

Gavin jones
Verified purchase

“Bought for my granddaughters bed when she comes to stay over. She says its very comfortable.”

ElizS
Check Price on Amazon More about the dosleeps King Size Mattress 5FT, 10.6 Inch, 9-Zone Pocket Spring

The dearest mattress in this article and the second half of a pair. This king size version carries 2,675 ratings at 4.4 stars, and so does the double at number two: two sizes of one mattress range, pooled into a single review count by the marketplace, which means a shopper reading the verdict of the double is reading the verdict of the king as well. It is the fourth family pool this session has found on this site, after three air purifiers, three hubs, two clocks and two scooters, and it appears in this ranking twice within one brand. The rating is a real number produced by real buyers; what it is not is a verdict on this mattress in particular.

The page also measures itself in two systems, which is a smaller but more concrete oddity: the field for length, width and thickness gives the mattress as 2 metres by 1.5 by 0.27, and the plain dimensions field gives the same mattress as 200 by 150 by 27 centimetres. Both are correct — two metres is two hundred centimetres — and no shopper has ever needed one mattress described in two units in two adjacent fields. It is the same harmless duplication as the centimetres-and-inches depth on the Amazon Basics mattress, and it eats the same space that a firmness figure or a spring count could occupy.

What is genuinely there is the construction shared with the double: nine separately wrapped zones of pocket springs, a Tencel lyocell surface, a 27 centimetre depth, 28 kilograms and twelve claimed layers, which this article has already called what it is. At £189.99 it is the most expensive mattress here, and it is seventh because the only thing separating it from the identical construction at number two is size — and because a shopper who wants the king is paying thirty pounds for it while reading the reviews of a double.

Final Verdict

What we would buy. The Wilson Beds single at £53.53 is the one we would buy for a spare room, a child's first bed or a student flat, because 3,627 buyers is four times the evidence behind anything else here and it is the only mattress in the ranking whose care instruction is true. For a double in a main bedroom, the Uliyati at £139.99 is the best-described mattress in the article and the only one whose layers are named with their thicknesses, at 17 kilograms, which one person can carry upstairs. If the budget is the whole argument, the TeQsli at £79.04 is the cheapest double here, with a cotton cover and a healthy sample — and no firmness on the page, which is the risk being taken. If the sleeper already knows they want a firm mattress, the SCEPKN at £119.99 carries the best rating among the hundreds of buyers and a nine-zone orthopaedic spring unit. If the mattress has to be certified for a bed in the UK and the buyer wants to see it in writing, the Amazon Basics at £139.99 is the only one that names BS7177. And the dosleeps king at £189.99 is the one to buy only if the size is the reason, since its construction is the same as the double at £30 less. What the listings will not tell you. Ask how firm it is before anything else, because four of the seven mattresses here will not say and firmness is the only specification that decides whether a mattress helps a back: a word — medium, firm, medium firm — is worth more than twelve layers, and if the page cannot produce one, treat the purchase as a gamble and buy from a seller who takes returns. Read the depth and the construction rather than the layer count, since the layers field in this article reads two, three, four and twelve for mattresses that are all built from a cover, a comfort layer, springs and a base; the listing that names its layers in centimetres is the one that measured something. Check for BS7177, because it is the British fire standard every mattress sold here has to meet and only one listing in seven mentions it. Watch the units and the order when you compare sizes, as one mattress here gives its length and width the wrong way round and another gives the same thickness in inches and in centimetres in two adjacent fields. And when a rating count looks impressive, ask which size it describes: the double and the king of one brand in this ranking share all 2,675 of theirs.

Share this guide

Photo of Felipe Iglesias

Written by

Founder & Lead Reviewer

Felipe is a computational engineering student who has been working in SEO since he was sixteen. He founded ranked10 and researches every guide on the site.

Comments

Reader comments are not checked against the manufacturer's claims above.

No comments yet

Be the first to add something we missed — a price change, a spec that turned out wrong, or how one of these held up.

Leave a comment

No account needed. Own one of these? Tell other readers how it actually performed.

2000 left

Comments with links are checked before they appear. See our privacy policy.

Related buying guides

All Home guides
Home

Best Electric Showers 2026: 10 Ranked, and the kW Claims That Don't Add Up

The best electric showers are sold on one number: the kW rating. In these listings that number frequently contradicts its own advert. The Triton Style 3 appears as 9.5kW in the title, but its first bullet calls it an '8.5kW electric shower'. The Triton Collection 2 (B00BYWSGIQ) says 9.5 KW in the title while its second bullet describes the 'Collection 2 8.5 KW electric shower unit'. And the older 8.5kW version of that same line (B00EUZ5INA) is the dearer of the two: £189.49 against £165.99. We ranked ten of the best electric showers on Amazon UK on stated kW, warranty length, review volume and rating, price per kW, and how well each advert agrees with itself. Three further listings that appear in the same search results are not electric showers at all: the two Bristan units are bar mixers that need a boiler to work, and the Triton AS2000SR is classified as a 'Power Shower', with a bullet offering a '1 YEAR GUARANTEE' against a spec sheet promising 2 years. They were excluded.

Home

Best Blanket Hoodie 2026: Heavyweight, or Lightweight

There is no fabric in this article, no grammage, no length and no size — and that is the whole story of the blanket hoodie market. Seven products, priced between £16.09 and £26.99, rated between 4.5 and 4.7 stars by more than seventeen thousand buyers between them, and not one of them says what it is made of in a way a buyer can compare, how heavy it is in grams per square metre, or how long it hangs below the waist. The word oversized does all the work, and it is not a measurement. What the pages do instead is contradict themselves in ways that would be funny if they were not the only information available. The same Bedsure hoodie appears twice in this ranking's market with the same 5,728 ratings — one review pool sold in grey, the other in mushroom — and the two listings describe its fabric class differently: heavyweight in one, lightweight in the other. It is one garment. Its fur field adds the best line in the article: natural synthetic fur, with the coat origin recorded as non-existent, which is what Amazon writes when the fur came from nothing at all because it was made in a factory. There is a field for sentiment. One listing carries a specification called fit to size sentiment, answered with the word positive — a machine's summary of what buyers thought of the sizing, sitting in a table that has no sizing in it beyond the word one size. And a different listing gives away its own ASIN wrongly: the product is B0B2RXFVW1 and its own ASIN field says B0B9X2QPNC, a typo in the one field that is never supposed to be wrong. Five of the seven pages carry a fragment of Amazon's own page code inside a review field, the same leak this site has now found on an air mattress, an electric heater and a sleeping bag. None of which matters as much as it sounds, because a blanket hoodie is bought by feel. The ratings are the highest of any article this site has published — every product here is rated 4.5 or better, and the worst one-star share in the article is five per cent — which is what happens when a category is bought as a gift, for warmth and for fun. The buyers' own words are better than any specification: one calls it a fat suit that is not flattering but is super comfortable and says their girlfriend loves it, another wore theirs for ten days without stopping, and a third, in Spanish, calls it very comfortable and warm and not as enormous as the others.

Home

Best Electric Heater 2026: 35 Celsius, 16 Kiloamps

An electric heater has one number that decides what it costs to run and how much room it warms, and that number is wattage. Every listing here knows it, every title carries it, and when the specification table is asked for the heat output it answers with something else entirely. The Dreo at £59.99 says thirty-five degrees Celsius. The Amazon Basics at £34.19 says forty-one degrees Fahrenheit. The same Dreo says sixteen kiloamps, which is sixteen thousand amps and would need a substation rather than a three-pin plug. Three products, three answers to the same field, and not one of them is the number a buyer came for. The wattage is not hidden, it is somewhere else — in the title, in the bullets, and in the power settings, which is exactly where the contradictions live. The Belaco convector is advertised as a two thousand watt heater, with a specification table that gives its heat output as seven hundred and fifty watts, the lowest of the three settings the same page lists. And one Warmlite fan heater appears twice in this article's market, in two listings with identical titles, one declaring a thousand watts and the other two thousand — two numbers for the same machine, and two different rating pools behind them. The sizing field is worse, and it is the one a buyer actually needs, because a heater is bought for a room. To judge that you need an area, and this market answers with no unit at all — seventy, then one hundred and eighty — with square feet, with a range, with an abbreviation, with a hedge (two hundred square feet, estimated), with an adjective (small slash medium), and in the case of the cheapest heater here, with nothing: the Amazon Basics at £9.90 has no coverage field at all. The only metric figure anywhere in this article is in a bullet, where a different Amazon Basics says it covers up to eighteen square metres — which is twenty-three square feet more than the listing beside it claims, in a unit that the rest of the market refuses to use. None of that makes these bad heaters, and at these prices it should not. What it means is that the numbers worth trusting are the ones a seller cannot round or relabel: the rating count, the distribution behind it, and the wattage printed in the title. Two of the last three are visible in one field here, and it is the one field nobody fills in by accident — the best sellers rank, where the £9.90 Amazon Basics reports itself as fifth in electric heating, and the BZGG as twenty-fourth.